I’ve been Waiting for My Lunch

The distribution center for the pharmacy I work at finally opened, but it’s still in its Testing 123 phase so we haven’t filled that many prescriptions yet. I got assigned to a station which dispenses some of the less common prescriptions, so I filled a grand total of 5 prescriptions last shift. As we weren’t allowed to leave our stations for more than 5 minutes to go to the bathroom unless it was break/lunch or bring in stuff from the break room, we spent 8 hours staring at the assembly line full of almost nothing. Thank goodness our work stations had computers with Microsoft Paint next to the company software, so I’m pretty sure people are mastering drawing with a mouse right now.

One of my coworkers brought me a stack of paper to write down which drugs had scanning issues, so I grabbed a few extra sheets and started drawing. Or attempting to write stuff. This is what came out of last night’s shift:

I’ve been Waiting for my Lunch (parody of “I’ve been Waiting for this Night”)

Verse 1:
Here I’m standing bored out of my mind
Watching all the drugs come off the line
There is nothing I can do,
My attention’s falling through,
Almost gone
Here I’m standing bored out of my mind, ugh.

Refrain:
Filled a thousand scripts, swear I’ve lost my wits
I’m so hungry now, gonna clock right out
I’ve been waiting for my lunch
I’ve been waiting for my lunch
When I see the clock and there’s one minute left
I pull out my badge, I’m about to swipe
I’ve been waiting for my lunch
I’ve been waiting for my lunch

Verse 2:
If only I had something with to play
To get me three more hours into the day
There is nothing I can do,
My attention’s falling through,
Almost gone
If only I had something with to play, ugh.

(Refrain)

Oh…

(Refrain)

Here I’m standing bored out of my mind

Leave a Reply

