You know you’ve been watching too much Eurovision when… (pt 5/Work Edition)

So I got a job at the pharm plant, and sometimes it’s hard getting my head from ESC fan mode to Pharm mode. As a result, weird stuff sometimes happens…

Click here for part 1,  here for part 2, here for part 3, and here for part 4

  1. The first thing you notice about your general manager is that she looks like Carola circa 2006.

    My manager’s reaction to watching Carola’s performance: Wait, I look like her? Well, I can’t sing, but can I switch places with her? She looks like she’s got more money than I do.” 

  2. You get frustrated that the drugs on the pharmacy shelves are less organized than your Eurovision music folder, which you talked about in your interview to sound slightly more organized than you really are.

    And it doesn’t help that there’s blood pressure medicine next to an antibiotic which is next to a bipolar lithium drugs. At least put everything in ABC order or drug type…T_T

  3. Your coworker doesn’t understand when you tell them another coworker looks like one of the Hungry Hearts.

    Me: [Coworker] looks like one of the Hungry Hearts, you know, “The streets of Moscow with my girlfriend.” Coworker: You trying to say that [coworker] is a lesbian? Me: All I said was that she looks like one of the Hungry Hearts…

  4. You remember the drug Lisinopril (an ACE inhibitor/high blood pressure drug) with “Lisja Esenski.”

    Hmmmm…what other mnemonics can I use to remember these drugs??

  5. You freak out when one of your coworkers introduces herself as Conchita and nods when you ask, “You mean like the singer in Austria?!”
  6. Everyone at work has heard you sing If Love was a Crime.

    Manager that looks like Carola: So I heard you singing that song in the bathroom yesterday...

    Manager that looks like Carola: So I heard you singing that song in the bathroom yesterday…

  7. Ditto with Love Love Peace Peace

    Old women baking bread, a man in a hamster wheel, a flaming fake piano, and a Russian man on skates…

  8. When your coworker introduces himself as Gary but pronounces the G really lightly, you mishear the name as Jüri.

    Hang on a sec, you're the wrong person...

    Hang on a sec, you’re the wrong person…

  9. You’ve managed to get your coworkers to hold a 15-second singalong of the Ace Wilder’s “Don’t Worry.”

    I'd consider that a success at the Pharm.

    I’d consider that a success at the Pharm.

  10. Your coworker, who’s helping you train other coworkers, asks why a) you constantly space out, b) can remember all these countries/songs/artists/usw, and c) forget your lunch at least 5 times in 4 weeks

    Well I would apologize for being a Eurovision fan. But I'm not sorry, no.

    Well I would apologize for being a Eurovision fan. But I’m not sorry, no.

 

Leave a Reply

