2016 Review: Montenegro

RTCG has decided: while Sergej Ćetković and Knez’s entries were great and brought Montenegro to the final for the first time since their independence and first participation, the country has a lot more to offer than just Balkan ballads. As a result, this year RTCG decided that the Montenegro would be represented by a song closer to their 2013 entry: the group Highway (a trio from the X Factor Adria along with No Name’s Bojan Jovović) and the song “The Real Thing.”

When I first listened to the song during their presentation, my first thought was “What the hell is this noise?” It didn’t help that they were performing with obviously unplugged electric guitars yet trying to look like they were playing as loudly as possible, and it felt like an awkward school talent show performance at the time. The music video had a bit more life, but it still felt somewhat confusing. As of so far, I still don’t know any of the lyrics besides “Inside you” and “Feel it; I’m the real thing, yeah,” and I still need to put in a lot of energy to listen in on what the words are.

On the other hand, while I understand that a lot of rankings put this in their bottom 3 because it’s not their favorite genre of music, this doesn’t deserve that much flack. Highway is doing their own thing (so “the real thing” as opposed to making them sing a schlager entry), even if the 3-minute time restraint makes the song feel somewhat cut off. And while I agree with the rankings that it’s not my favorite genre, I won’t switch the song when I’m driving: If the sound is loud enough, I get to feel the bass and vibrations through the brake pedal.

Leave a Reply

