Alive after a Chi-Squared Test

I hate exam week. All the stress gets to me, and all I end up doing is breaking down or doing something that’s not class related. Instead of studying how carbohydrates get metabolized, I metabolize way too many carbs. Instead of working on a paper, I’ve been typing up random crap onto Word in order to get my thoughts out.

And then there’s stats class. Instead of working on a project analyzing the possibility of bots or working on homework, I’ve broken down and binge watched South Park or YouTubers or ESC/NFs or whatever. It’s been like this the entire semester, and I’ve kept telling myself, “I’ll start doing the homework once I feel better and/or find my textbook.” Then again, that wasn’t a very good idea since I ended up finding the book 3 weeks before finals. And when I opened up my email to look at the homework assignments, I took one look at the assignments and gave up. There were way too many problems and I wasn’t going to be able to complete anything. Screw this, the Melodifestivalen artists had just been announced, and I wanted to be ready in February, so I spent 1.5 hours painting a t-shirt with the new Mello logo.

20151205_222133.jpg

Took a while, but I’m still happy with the results since it’s a first attempt.

And then I went back to the 25+ way overdue problem sets and forced myself to finish maybe 60% of one assignment before getting overwhelmed and having a meltdown start kicking in. Eventually I slipped back to watching South Park instead of going to class because it turned mentally exhausting to even try to go back.

helpimdiene

Anyways, my professor Dr. R noticed something was probably wrong and tried emailing me, which I ignored because I didn’t want to talk to him and/or because I absolutely despised the class and/or I hate it when I have to dig up old bones and talk about it. I couldn’t avoid talking to him today since we had a written exam though, and he offered to write me a new exam to make up for the homework that I had missed. I’m not sure if he figured out that I was dealing with the daily brain chemical disaster (whatever it is), or maybe he had to do something similar with previous years’ students, or maybe he has experience with his kids, but I’m feeling really grateful for Dr. R for offering a second chance. And since he made the offer while I just finished answering a question involving Chi-Squared goodness of fit test, it’s probably a good time to say I’m still alive. At least for the weekend when I’m supposed to be studying for other finals and not wandering aimlessly in Ikea again…

Leave a Reply

