Aces (and Dutch allies)

I’m going on another ace rant, but this time it’s actually Eurovision-related…

I’ve been out as ace for a little over a year, and minus a few ups and downs, coming out as ace really hasn’t affected my life that much. All I’ve really done is cracked more lame cake jokes (especially after working in a bakery over the summer) and decorated more things with black, grey, white, and purple stripes. Sure, there are always a few assholes that joke that I’m a bacterium or a plant that doesn’t have to re-shuffle my DNA to reproduce (that’s called asexual reproduction, not asexual, FYI), but most people recognize that I’m just a human not sexually attracted to other people. That doesn’t mean I’m not romantically attracted to anyone though; it’s kind of awkward-funny that my SO asked me out the day after I came out about this time last year…(and it definitely one-upped Sebalter in terms of awkwardness.)

These are asexual reproducers, not asexuals!. And they look awkward.

Still, I’m still the same person who’s crazy and eats snow with tapioca and creamer, snowfoots, blasts music way too loud in the car, and crashes in the middle of lecture after eating porridge with too much sugar. I still have a brain with an undiagnosed chemical disaster that makes talking in a straight line difficult, and I still weave Eurovision whenever possible into conversations.

Moving on…

Anyways, back to the ESC world: After listening to a few of Douwe (pronounced kind of like “dowel” without the L) Bob’s recent works, I think I can back the Netherlands next year. Given that his entry isn’t from Anouk’s reject list, it should be pretty good. And he can be both an ally and enter good music at the same time, like this:

OK, it’s a little restricted to the binary and people’s plumbing equipment, and the bi relationship is awkwardly portrayed, but at least he goes further than LG (Life’s Good?) and flat-out tells people that bisexuals exist. Someone mentioned that he missed asexuals in the video, but that’s okay because there’s a separate video for aces and other people who like food more than people. I don’t really drink, but as an ex-bakery employee, cake is overrated (sorry aces that actually like cakes). It’s also really catchy, so I’ll enjoy my 3.5 minutes listening to him sing about how he’s in love with a glass of ice cold beer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

