Barefoot performers at Eurovision pt.2

Who says you need shoes at Eurovision?  Not after we’ve had 4 winners who ditched their shoes before appearing on stage…

Remedios Amaya (Spain 1983)

I ran out of barefoot winners to talk about, so I’d have to talk about non-winners and non-qualifiers sometime. And of course, there are the 0 pointers. I don’t really get the performance or the lyrics yet, so I don’t think I can really talk about it.

Kuunkuiskaajat (Finland 2010)

I’m going to have to apologize to someone I know at uni who really likes the artists. Like the other songs in their album, their ESC entry is really dance-able, and I tried to use it to practice dancing kolo. (It didn’t really work, but if I hear somewhere down the line that I shouldn’t be using Finnish music for Serbian folk dances, someone probably read this).

Sopho Nizharadze (Georgia 2010)

I was debating whether or not to put this song in the article, since although she and the dancers are barefoot the performance has absolutely nothing to do with it; the performance could have occurred with or without. The only difference that would have happened is that her feet wouldn’t have showed when one of the dancers spun her. And that it would have hurt a lot less if the dancers stepped on each other.

Backing Dancers for Robin Stjernberg (Sweden 2013)

I read an article a while ago that the dancers were risking injury to dance barefoot on stage, but after considering other acts where artists performed barefoot on stage, it wasn’t the most dangerous. (I’m currently thinking about Estonia’s 2014 entry, where a) Argo could have dropped Tanja, b) Tanja could have kicked Argo in the face, and c) the “we were weightless” scene could have gone terribly wrong. Or it could have been Sweden’s 2012 entry, where Loreen could have choked on a snowflake during her performance.) Okay, something could have happened during the backflips and half-backflips, but I don’t think it has anything to do with not wearing shoes.

Inga & Anush (Armenia 2009)

This looks more dangerous than the choreography in “You” because of the long skirts and the long sleeves that reach the floor. I wouldn’t want to trip and fall on stage. In the music video, the dancers start the “nor par” in a dance studio wearing regular (trip free) clothes, so there wouldn’t be any major injuries. Moving away from the choreography, I really like the song and it’s really catchy, especially the rhythm.

Click here for Part 1 of “barefoot performers at Eurovision”

Leave a Reply

