ESC Preview 2014: Azerbaijan

Artist: Dilara Kazimova

Title: “Start A Fire”

By the title I would have guessed something upbeat (and a song that rhymed “fire” with “desire.”) But apparently that didn’t happen, because the Azerbaijan used the “rent-a-composer (from Sweden)” approach and it turned out to be another ballad. I’m not going to say that it’s bad (because I can hear the emotions in the song), but I found it hard to enjoy it the first time because it had a bit of a vibe from The Christmas Song on the 24/7 Christmas music station: It’s a good song, but unless I decide to actually put in effort to pay attention to the lyrics, the song just goes above my head.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

