30 Days of Eurovision Challenge: Day 4- Favourite Female Solo

Serbia 2007: Molitva- I first heard this song shortly after discovering ESC with “Fairytale.” Even though the lyrics were in Serbian, I felt as if I could understand the story behind the song through her facial expressions and the tune. After looking up the lyrics, one translated line stood out: “Your name is my only prayer.” Considering what had happened a few weeks before discovering ESC, the song was a shot to my gut, that feeling of him running away and refusing to talk. Eventually I managed to separate the song from the story to simply listen to the song, but there are some times that the two are stuck together. And I listen just to catch the swirl of emotions.

Croatia 1999: Marija Magdalena- When I first heard this song last year, I didn’t know whether it would be appropriate for blasting in the shower (considering that some people could get offended simply by the thought of Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code) even though I was hooked by Doris Dragović’s voice telling a story that I couldn’t understand. The song sounded as if she was proud to tell her story, even if there was a bit of sadness in the tune. Maybe it was the first time she fell into LAFS, and she was on stage telling everyone, “Hey, this was the first time I fell in love, and I’m sharing Chapter 1 of the story.” Maybe her song ended at the climax of the story and went downhill emotionally, but no one knows for sure.

Turkey 1997: Dinle- I only found this song a few months ago when reading about statistics of countries performing 2nd. The part the grabbed me was the driving beat, especially in the refrain. Even though I hadn’t looked up the lyrics yet, I could make a story from the song: She’s telling her lover to come over, but then she starts telling him off about the crap that occurred during their relationship, somewhat similar to a street musician performing a satirical song in front of some important government building. As of so far, this song sounds best after a bad day in the chem department, even if no one can hear me complain.

Israel 1983- If you already know that I’m not exactly fond of the winner of 1983, it’s because of this song. So happy and cheerful and not what they entered 17 years later…

2 comments on “30 Days of Eurovision Challenge: Day 4- Favourite Female Solo

  1. I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly permit me know so that I may just
    subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

